4 Comments

Sometimes it’s Not About Joyful Eating

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t posted on The Joyful Eater site for a couple of weeks.  As we all know, sometimes life gets so full that we only have time and energy for what is right in front of us, and nothing more.  That’s what the last couple of weeks have been like for me and my family.

So today, after a night of getting only about 4 hours of sleep, and working steadily all day, I had no energy to get creative and joyful in the kitchen.  In truth, sometimes it’s not about joyful eating; it’s simply about getting some nutritious sustenance.

As I was finishing up work about 7:00 p.m., I thought about how I used to simply call in a pizza delivery on days like this.  Until there’s a vegan pizza joint (with gluten-free pizza crust) in the area, that won’t be an option for me and my family.  So, I went in to the kitchen and started browsing through the freezer, and I realized what my next blog would be titled….Sometimes it’s Not About Joyful Eating.

A crucial thing to staying with a vegan diet when the going gets tough, is to stock up on some good, nutritious frozen food options.  This was our dinner tonight…..

Vegan Fast Food

  • Frozen veggie burger
  • Frozen vegetable fried rice
  • Corn on the cob

I went to the freezer and pulled out some pre-packaged, pre-cooked foods and heated them up in about 5 minutes!  I did put some corn on the cob on the stove, which took a little longer, but the whole meal took very little time and energy.  I like Dr. Praeger’s Gluten-Free California Veggie Burger (voted best frozen veggie burger for weight loss by Dr. Oz!)  I just like it because it tastes good, and it’s gluten-free!  Check out their website for more easy, nutritious meals for the whole family.

Here are a few more of my favorite “fast food” vegan meals:

  • Trader Joe’s Thai Vegetable Gyoza
  • Fried Rice  (also frozen)
  • Frozen Edamame (good amount of protein)
  • Refried beans on a tortilla with salsa, lettuce, tomatoes
  • Frozen veggie burger on a bun with lettuce, onion, tomato, condiments.  You can melt some vegan cheese on the patty if you like.
  • Cook some pasta, heat some marinara sauce, toss in some frozen veggie meatballs, and make an easy salad, or just heat up some frozen peas.

I’ll share more vegan fast food ideas as they come up, and would love to hear about your favorites!

As I said, sometimes it’s not so much about creative cooking, but about putting a nutritious meal on the table.  By taking advantage of these easy, nearly ready-to-eat products, we can maintain our commitment to eat in alignment with our values, feed ourselves and our family a nutritious and tasty meal, and not stress out about it!  It’s a WIN-WIN-WIN!

That’s my idea of JOYFUL EATING!

4 comments on “Sometimes it’s Not About Joyful Eating

  1. Your sharing is all the more helpful because of it’s grounding in real life.

  2. My husband likes pasta with peas too! It’s a great idea and I never would have thought of that. Frozen organic peas are so yummy, especially with the tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

