4 Comments

Checking Back In…..

Hello!

Since it’s been weeks (months?) since I’ve last written on my blog, I thought I would get back in to it with a brief summary of where I’ve been for the last few months!

Two very important events in my life have kept me focused on other things besides writing.  First, I have been working with a group of people to bring an Indian spiritual master to Portland.  A small group of us went to India in 2006 and 2007 to see Sri Tathata, who lives at an ashram in southern India.  In February of this year, we learned that Sri Tathata would like to come to Portland as part of a 2012 World Peace Tour.  This would be his first time on U.S. soil!

We all promptly said “yes” to this call, and have been busy planning and organizing the event, which took place September 7-9 here in Portland.  Sri Tathata, five monks, and nine others from France, Canada, and Tahiti came to Portland for six days.  Here they are arriving at the Portland airport!

Arriving in Portland – first time on American soil!

Nine people travelling with Sri Tathata to the U.S. stayed in our home for the week!  I now have nine new wonderful friends across the globe!

Sri Tathata offering teachings

The program was a wonderful success.  We were all very happy!

Saying goodbye to Sri Tathata and our international friends.

Goodbye photo

Beautiful Hope

The second big event in my life is the loss of my beautiful kitty, Hope.

She was in late stage renal failure during the event with Sri Tathata, but she managed to hold on throughout the week, and actually really enjoyed being in the wonderful energy of the house.

Hope at home

A few days after Sri Tathata left, it became apparent that she was really struggling, so we called Compassionate Care to come in and help ease her transition.  It was a very difficult day for me.

I still, and will always, feel her loving presence…..and I miss her soft-silky furry body on my lap so much!

Mister and Hope

Mister misses her a lot, too…..

Thank you for sharing with me a bit of my life, and why I have not been blogging recently.  I do intend to get back to regular writing and posting, and plan to have lots of wonderful recipes and helpful information to share with you.

I had the wonderful opportunity to learn more about Indian cooking while our visitors were here, and find it to be a very easy, nutritious, and delicious way to eat!  Basically, saute onion and garlic together in a large pan.  Add to that any veggies you have on hand.  I put in chopped carrots, potatoes (sweet and regular), cauliflower, broccoli, some chopped kale, spinach, or other greens.  Add a little veggie broth, but not too much.  You want this to be stew-like.  Then, toss in some lentils, chickpeas, or other legumes for healthy protein, and add some spices of your choice.  I like cumin, turmeric, and a little curry powder.  Have you ever tried ginger powder?  Yummm.    Cook until legumes and veggies are tender, and it has a stew-like consistency.  If you like cilantro, chop up some and sprinkle it on top.  Serve over rice or purchase some chappatis, naan, or roti at the store for a good taste of India!

Please let me know if you’re looking for specific information regarding plant-based eating, and I’ll do my best to pass along information that may be helpful to you on your journey to JOYFUL EATING!

4 comments on “Checking Back In…..

  1. These types of stews are at the very top of my list for favorite meals. In fact, when I have leftovers, I can’t help but eat them for breakfast! Not only does every bite taste warm and delicious, but the way your body feels after is amazing – energized, rejuvenated, calm – because the meal is full of wonderful, diverse nutrients and so well balanced. I appreciate your “flexible” directions too – it’s nice for people to know that they can open the fridge and pantry and utilize what they have rather than feeling like they can’t make something because they’re missing an ingredient or two. To me, this is more about teaching people how to cook rather than how to follow a recipe. This is where I would like to see my recipe development go – what flavors compliment each other, how to sweat onions, etc. Jen and I are working on something right now called Build your Own Thai Coconut Curry where you pick your protein (I used tofu), vegetable combo (mine was eggplant and mushroom), plus your greens (I used green cabbage). But there are lots of delicious combinations. 🙂

    • Wonderful, Mollie! We have a lot in common regarding how we like to cook (and eat), and I agree…. unless you’re baking, it’s not at all about following a recipe, but simply combining foods and spices that you enjoy! There is SO much freedom in this way of cooking, and JOYFUL because it feels so good in the body.

      I’ll be sure to stay tuned in to all the great work you’re doing through The Hearts Kitchen!

  2. Oh, one more thing, did VegFest this weekend at the Convention Center and thought of you – there was an abundance of information (lectures, video, demos, books, articles, and paraphernalia) promoting and discussing the benefits to transition toward a plant-based diet. Also, I had the opportunity to see NY Times food writer, Mark Bittman, on Thursday at the Schnitz. He is such an influential speaker and advocate for a plant-based diet. Great to hear him speak – reaffirming, shocking, but a hopeful message for our world.

    • So sorry I missed out on this event this year. Let’s stay in touch and share information and upcoming events. Recently, I took part in a “Conscious Foods Summit” online, sponsored by Will Tuttle, author of The World Peace Diet. It was a week-long event bringing in people knowledgeable about conscious eating. You could simply pick up your phone and tune in to any and all sessions. It was offered FREE! I’m so excited about the energy and momentum building within the movement to more conscious eating. Thank you for all you are doing!

Leave a Reply

