4 Comments

Why Vegans Live Longer

Another year has sailed by, and I just celebrated birthday number 62!   I am so grateful to be feeling vibrantly healthy at this time in my life, and I absolutely know that my passion for plant-based eating is the main reason I am so healthy!

I recently read an article entitled, Why Do Vegetarians Live Longer, by Kathy Freston. In the article, Kathy is saying that, based on recent studies, you can expect to live about 10 more years if you move from a meat-eating diet to a plant-based diet.  She states that, according to the largest study of vegetarians and vegans to date, vegetarians live on average almost eight years longer than the general population, which is similar to the gap between smokers and non-smokers.

For about six years of eating a vegetarian diet, I thought I was doing my body a big favor by not eating meat.   I knew I was doing the cows, chickens, pigs, and fish a big favor!   I continued to eat dairy and eggs during this time.  Then, I read Will Tuttle’s, The World Peace Diet, and realized the harm I was still doing to my body by consuming dairy and eggs.   It felt like the final pieces of a  picture puzzle clunking in to place, and The Joyful Eater was born, although I didn’t begin writing about being The Joyful Eater for another two years.

If you’re not convinced that eating a completely plant-based diet offers a clear path to wellness, take some time and watch this video.  In “Uprooting the Leading Causes of Death, Michael Greger, M.D., explores the role of a healthy diet in preventing, treating, and even reversing the top 15 killers in the United States.  He shares information about the disease preventing properties of a vegan diet, over even the vegetarian diet, and the meat-eating diet.  He also shares information about the impact of diet alone, versus diet and exercise.  It’s very enlightening!

It’s about an hour long, but he’s pretty hilarious and I believe it will be well worth your time.  Turn off the TV and consider this a healthy dose of educational programming.  If you just watch the first 15-20 minutes, you’ll receive a powerful message….. promise!

Here is a recipe for one of the most delightful taste treats I’ve had….ever!  My daughter, Lindsay, made it for me for my birthday lunch.  It’s so delicious, and since it includes tempeh, it can be a nutritious meal by itself.

Kate’s Birthday Salad

  • Buy some regular (not marinated) tempeh and marinate it, overnight, in some tamari, brown sugar, rice wine vinegar, and freshly-grated ginger.  (Cut in to six squares to marinate it, then cut in to bite-size pieces to cook it.)
  • The next day, pan fry it.  Put it in dry and drizzle marinade over it a little at a time.  You want it to brown up nicely, so don’t put in too much liquid at a time.
  • After the tempeh is nicely browned, remove it from the pan.  Add to the pan some dried cranberries and some whole cashews.  Heat those up and then toss in some chopped kale (removed from stems), and about 10 pods of crushed cardamom.
  • Add some sliced Japanese turnips and a little marinade.  Saute a bit more.
  • Add some garlic and ginger powder.

Put this kale mixture on a plate.  Top with the tempeh and then sprinkle some cilantro on top.  You could also toss in some apple chunks or some diced, roasted squash.  Have fun experimenting, and JOYFUL EATING!

Stay tuned….coming soon:  Delicious Vegan Thanksgiving Recipes!

 

4 comments on “Why Vegans Live Longer

  1. Happy Birthday! You’re beautiful and youthful.

    I’m 49 and haven’t had meat since I was 23 — which means 26 meatless years! My blood work is excellent and I have ZERO bone loss! I’ve also grown my real hair color out (reddish brown) and no grays. The pluses are endless. 🙂

  2. Thanks for being another positive voice for plant-based eating! You are so right! The benefits are endless….

  3. I am so grateful for you and the fact you are planning to live so long!

Leave a Reply

